Nevada Changes Business License and Reporting Requirements

Avatar photo
Posted on October 11, 2017 by James Gilmer in Business Compliance, Industry News.

The Nevada legislature recently made several changes to licensing and reporting requirements affecting businesses and nonprofits. Following is a brief summary of the changes.

Incorporation Documents

Effective October 1, 2017, Nevada businesses must submit an initial list of officers/directors or members/managers at the time of incorporation or qualification. The state no longer gives until the end of the following month to file it.

Online Filing Fees for Nevada Businesses

Domestic LLCs and corporations that file online are prompted to file and pay their respective $350 or $650 fee plus the normal filing fee for the articles.

Filing Requirements for Nevada Nonprofits

Domestic nonprofits must file their business license exemption and charitable solicitation registration statement along with the articles of incorporation and initial list, along with the list fee of $50 and normal filing fee for the articles. This cannot be filed online; filing by fax is best.

Filing Requirements for Foreign Entities

All foreign entities must file the initial list and business license with their qualification to do business (certificate of authority). Foreign nonprofit corporations must also file their business license exemption and charitable solicitation registration statement. Again, you have to pay the list fee along with the normal qualification fee, and it cannot be filed online. Fax is best.

Fee-Free Amendments

The state now allows amendments to be made to the initial list for no fee, as long as they take place within 60 days.

If you have questions about the changes, or if you would like help with licensing and reporting requirements for your business or nonprofit organization, feel free to get in touch with one of our compliance specialists or give us a call at 1-888-995-5895.

Like to learn more about licensing requirements for your business or nonprofit?