North Carolina DBA / Fictitious Name / Trade Name Registrations

Registration requirements for North Carolina business entities

Business entities that plan to use a name other than their legal business name may need to register an assumed name. Assumed name registration can take place at the state, local, or state and local levels of government. State specific registration information is available below.

North Carolina General Business Licenses

North Carolina Assumed Name Registration

Not required



DBA / Fictitious Name / Trade Name licensure is not required on the State level in North Carolina.

In North Carolina, assumed name registrations are filed with the county register of deeds. There is no state-level assumed name registration, however, entities conducting business in more than one county can designate multiple counties with one filing.

Law:

NC Gen. St. § 66-71.4

Registration Not Required

Not required



Local General Business Licenses

Beaufort County Fictitious Name Registration

Agency:Beaufort County Register of Deeds (NC)

Initial Registration
Assumed Business Name

Form:

Assumed Business Name Certificate

Agency Fee:

$26

Renewal Not Required
Verify No Renewal

Not required



Assumed business name certificates no longer need to be renewed.

Buncombe County Assumed Business Name Certificate

Agency:Buncombe County Register of Deeds (NC)

Initial Registration
Assumed Business Name

Form:

Assumed Business Name Certificate

Agency Fee:

$26

Renewal Not Required
Verify No Renewal

Not required



Assumed business name certificates no longer need to be renewed.

Cumberland County Fictitious Name Registration

Agency:Cumberland County Register of Deeds (NC)

Initial Registration
Assumed Business Name

Form:

Assumed Business Name Certificate

Agency Fee:

$26

Renewal Not Required
Verify No Renewal

Not required



Assumed business name certificates no longer need to be renewed.

Iredell County Assumed Business Name Certificate

Agency:Iredell County Register of Deeds (NC)

Initial Registration
Assumed Business Name

Form:

Assumed Business Name Certificate

Agency Fee:

$26

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Assumed name certificates do not expire or require renewal.

Wake County Assumed Business Name Certificate

Agency:Wake County Register of Deeds (NC)

Initial Registration
Assumed Business Name

Form:

Assumed Business Name Certificate

Agency Fee:

$26

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Assumed name certificates do not expire or require renewal.

© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.