Nebraska Fictitious Name Registration & Renewal

Registration requirements for Nebraska business entities

Business entities that plan to use a name other than their legal business name may need to register an assumed name. Assumed name registration can take place at the state, local, or state and local levels of government. State specific registration information is available below.

Initial Application for Registration

Agency:Nebraska Secretary of State
Form:

Application for Trade Name

Filing method:

Mail or online.

Agency fee:

$100

Is registration mandatory?:

Trade name registration is optional in Nebraska.

Law:

NE Statutes § 87-210

County Level Filing:

Filing is not required at the county level.

Does registration prevent others from using the name I choose?:

Registration of a trade name does not by itself confer ownership rights.

Notes:
  • The duplicate copy of the trade name registration must be published once in a newspaper of general circulation in the city where the business is located.
  • Proof of publication must also be filed within 45 days after the date of registration.

Renewal Filing

Agency:Nebraska Secretary of State
Form:

Call (402)-471-4079 for a renewal form.

Filing method:

Mail or online.

Agency fee:

$100

Due:

Due by the date of registration every 10 years.

© 2012 - 2019 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.