City of Pittsburgh Department of Permits, Licenses, & Inspections (PA)


Please Note

We are a service company that can help you file with the City of Pittsburgh Department of Permits, Licenses, & Inspections (PA). We are not associated with this nor any other government agency. We offer paid services and software to help you file. You are not required to purchase our service to file - you may file directly with this agency without using our service.


Contact Information

Phone: 412-255-2175

Web: Home
Email: PLIapptech@pittsburghpa.gov

Licenses

We track the following licenses with the City of Pittsburgh Department of Permits, Licenses, & Inspections (PA) in order to provide compliance services to our clients. As a client, you see this and other reference data in License Manager in-line with your licenses.

A laptop placed on a desk with our License Manager software on display

Pittsburgh Electrical Contractor License

More Information:

http://pittsburghpa.gov/pli/contractor-license/electrical-license.html

Agency:City of Pittsburgh Department of Permits, Licenses, & Inspections (PA)
Fact Checked:4/12/18

Initial Registration

Form:

Electrical Contractor Registration Application

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$371

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Registration Renewal

Form:

Electrical Contractor Registration Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$278

Due:

Annually

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Pittsburgh General Contractor License

More Information:

http://pittsburghpa.gov/pli/contractor-license/general-license.html

Agency:City of Pittsburgh Department of Permits, Licenses, & Inspections (PA)
Fact Checked:4/12/18

Initial Registration

Form:

https://apps.pittsburghpa.gov/redtail/images/5190_Contractor_License__Application_3.11.2018.pdf

Filing Method:
Penalties:

A 60 day grace period begins when your license expires. A late fee will be charged the day after your license expires. If your license is not renewed within 60 days of expiration, it is considered lapsed and closed. All contractor and trade licenses expire a year from the date of issuance.

Before you Apply:
  • Valid government-issued ID
  • City of Pittsburgh Tax Compliance Letter
  • Certificate of General Liability Insurance with blanket coverage+
    • A Certificate of Insurance showing general liability coverage for the applicant at the location where licensed activity will take place, and listing the City of Pittsburgh as the certificate holder and additionally insured. The insurance expiration date must be at least 30-days after the date of licensed activity start date. If not, please provide a documentation from your insurer showing intent to extend coverage and list the expiration date as thirty-one (31)days after the licensed activity start date. 
  • Certificate of Worker’s Compensation Insurance or Affidavit of Exemption
    • A Certificate of Insurance showing Worker's Compensation coverage for the applicant business and listing the City of Pittsburgh as the certificate holder. If the business does not have any employees, then upload a notarized statement attesting that there are no employees.  
      Department of Permits, Licenses and Inspections Workers' Compensation Exemption Affidavit.
Fact Checked:6/23/20

Registration Renewal

Form:

https://apps.pittsburghpa.gov/redtail/images/5190_Contractor_License__Application_3.11.2018.pdf

Filing Method:
Due:

Due annually

Penalties:

A 60 day grace period begins when your license expires. A late fee will be charged the day after your license expires. If your license is not renewed within 60 days of expiration, it is considered lapsed and closed. All contractor and trade licenses expire a year from the date of issuance.

Before you Apply:
  • Valid government-issued ID
  • City of Pittsburgh Tax Compliance Letter
  • Certificate of General Liability Insurance with blanket coverage
    • A Certificate of Insurance showing general liability coverage for the applicant at the location where licensed activity will take place, and listing the City of Pittsburgh as the certificate holder and additionally insured. The insurance expiration date must be at least 30-days after the date of licensed activity start date. If not, please provide a documentation from your insurer showing intent to extend coverage and list the expiration date as thirty-one (31)days after the licensed activity start date. 
  • Certificate of Worker’s Compensation Insurance or Affidavit of Exemption
    • A Certificate of Insurance showing Worker's Compensation coverage for the applicant business and listing the City of Pittsburgh as the certificate holder. If the business does not have any employees, then upload a notarized statement attesting that there are no employees.  
      Department of Permits, Licenses and Inspections Workers' Compensation Exemption Affidavit.
Fact Checked:6/23/20

Pittsburgh HVAC Contractor License

More Information:

http://pittsburghpa.gov/pli/contractor-license/hvac-license.html

Agency:City of Pittsburgh Department of Permits, Licenses, & Inspections (PA)
Fact Checked:4/12/18

Initial Registration

Form:

HVAC Contractor Registration Application

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$371

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Registration Renewal

Form:

HVAC Contractor Registration Application (Renewal)

Filing Method:

Mail

Agency Fee:

$278

Due:

Annually

Fact Checked:12/4/18

Pittsburgh Sign Contractor License

More Information:

http://pittsburghpa.gov/pli/contractor-license/sign-license.html

Agency:City of Pittsburgh Department of Permits, Licenses, & Inspections (PA)
Fact Checked:4/12/18

Pittsburgh Welding License

More Information:

http://pittsburghpa.gov/pli/contractor-license/welding-license.html

Agency:City of Pittsburgh Department of Permits, Licenses, & Inspections (PA)
Fact Checked:4/12/18

Related Government Agencies

Explore other Pittsburgh government agencies we can help you stay compliant with:


Order Registered Agent Service

In my opinion, their "Human Touch" element is what really makes this company stand out! I wouldn't go anywhere else!
JanaeLaw Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, PC
It's awesome to know that Harbor Compliance is looking out for my customers' best interests and will only do what's right for them.
RyanFOUR16 CPA
© 2012 - 2021 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.