50-State Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licensing Compliance Guide
A macro view of pills

Virginia Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licensing

A pharmacist explaining a clients prescription

Licensing requirements for Virginia healthcare and pharmaceutical companies and individuals.

This page provides an overview of healthcare and pharmaceutical industry licensing in Virginia for individuals and businesses. You will find state requirements, application fees, filing instructions, and more. For assistance with licensing, please contact us to learn about our software and managed license services.

Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(2)
(3)
(2)
(2)
(2)
(2)
(2)
(2)
Individual Licenses
(1)
(1)
(1)

Company Licenses

Virginia Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Company Licenses

Virginia Controlled Substances Registration Certificate

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$90

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Medical Equipment Supplier Permit

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$180

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Non-Resident Manufacturer Registration

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$270

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Non-Resident Medical Equipment Supplier Registration

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$180

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Non-Resident Outsourcing Facility Registration

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$270

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Non-Resident Pharmacy Registration

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for a Non-Resident Pharmacy Registration

Agency Fee:

$270

Notes:
Before you Apply:
  • Provide a list of all owners and corporate officers including their title and contact information
  • A record of drugs dispensed to patients in Virginia must be readily retrievable from other prescription records
  • If the Pharmacy dispenses more than 50% of its total prescription volume pursuant to an original prescription orderreceived as a result of solicitation on the Internet, including the solicitation by electronic mail, include documentation that the pharmacy has received certification from the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy as a Verified Internet Pharmacy Practice Site (VIPPS)
  • Provide a legible copy of this pharmacy's current, unexpired, unrestricted pharmacy permit in its resident state.
  • Provide a copy of the current pharmacy inspection report, conducted no more than six months prior to the date of submission of this application, indicating compliance with the Virginia Drug Control Act. For pharmacies performing sterile and non-sterile compounding, the inspection report must indicate compliance with USP-NF standards
  • Provide a copy of the label showing the toll-free number
  • Provide the license and contact information for the pharmacist in charge

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$270

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Non-Resident Third Party Logistics Provder Registration

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$270

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Non-Resident Warehouser Registration

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$270

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Non-Resident Wholesale Distributor Registration

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$270

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Non-Restricted Manufacturer Permit

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$270

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Outsourcing Facility Permit

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for an Outsourcing Facility Permit

Agency Fee:

$270

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$270

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Pharmacy Permit

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy
Registered Agent (Special Agency) Required?No

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for a Pharmacy Permit

Agency Fee:

$270

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$270

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Practitioner of the Healing Arts Controlled Substances Facility Permit

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for a Facility Permit for Practitioner(s) of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled Substances

Agency Fee:

$240 for facilities with more than one practitioner, $0 for facilities with only one practitioner.

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$240 for facilities with more than one practitioner, $0 for facilities with only one practitioner.

Virginia Restricted Manufacturer Permit

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$180

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Third-Party Logistics Provider Permit

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Agency Fee:

$270

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Warehouser Permit

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for a Permit as a Warehouser

Agency Fee:

$270

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$270

Due:

Annually.

Virginia Wholesale Distributor License

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$270

Due:

Annually.

Individual Licenses

Virginia Individual Healthcare and Pharmaceutical Licenses

Virginia Pharmacist License

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Form:

Application for a License as a Pharmacist

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$180

Original Ink:Not required

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$90

Due:

Annually.

Original Ink:Not required

Virginia Pharmacy Intern Registration

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$15

Renewal Not Required

Not required



Virginia Pharmacy Technician Registration

Agency:Virginia Board of Pharmacy

Initial Registration

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$25

Registration Renewal

Filing Method:

Online

Agency Fee:

$25

Due:

Annually.

Learn about healthcare and pharmaceutical licensing in other states:

Controlled Substance Registration - In addition to a pharmacy license, controlled substance registration registration is required in many states for pharmacies that distribute controlled substances.

NABP (National Association of Boards of Pharmacy) - Host a variety of programs and resources relating to pharmacist and pharmacy licensure and examination.

Pharmacist in Charge - A licensed pharmacist designated by a pharmacy to act as the party responsible for compliance with regulations.

VPP (Verified Pharmacy Program) - A program run by NABP that allows state boards to share information and more easily register out-of-state pharmacies.

© 2012 - 2022 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.