Mississippi Fundraising Licensing

Resources for charities, businesses, professional fundraisers, and individuals conducting charitable solicitation activities
View Guide Contents

Below, you'll find licensing requirements for a range of fundraising activities. At a glance, you can see requirements, fees, filing instructions, and links to forms for everything from charitable gaming and cause marketing to professional fundraisers and charitable gift annuities.

Make sure your fundraising activities meet the unique requirements of each jurisdiction where you’re soliciting. Feel free to explore, bookmark, and share!

Mississippi charitable solicitation license, Mississippi fundraising license
Filter LicensesClear Filters
Company Licenses
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(1)
Individual Licenses
(1)

Company Licenses

Mississippi Nonprofit & Fundraising Company Licenses

Mississippi Bingo and Pull-Tab Licenses

Game Type:

Bingo and pull-tabs

Agency:Mississippi Gaming Commission - Charitable Gaming Division

Initial Registration

Agency:Mississippi Gaming Commission - Charitable Gaming Division
Form:

Application for License to Conduct Charitable Bingo

Agency fee:

$50

Registration Renewal

Agency:Mississippi Gaming Commission - Charitable Gaming Division
Form:

Application for License to Conduct Charitable Bingo (Renewal)

Agency fee:

$50

Due:

Triennially by the date of issuance. License renewals are due 6 months before the expiration date.

Mississippi Charitable Gift Annuity Registration

Agency:Mississippi Secretary of State - Securities Division
Law:

MS Code § 79-11-651 through MS Code § 79-11-661

Organization Age Requirement:

3 years of continuous existence immediately preceeding licensure.

Minimum Unrestricted Cash or Cash Equivalent Requirement:

$300,000

Disclosure Details:

Charities must include a disclosure mentioning "that a qualified charitable gift annuity is not insurance under the laws of this state and is not subject to regulation by the insurance commissioner or protected by an insurance guaranty association.".

Initial Registration

Notes:

Mississippi charities must provide notice on the day they first enter into a charitable gift annuity agreement. Notices must identify the organization, certify that the organization is a charity and that the annuities issued are qualified charitable gift annuities, and be signed by an officer or director.

Registration Renewal

Not required



Mississippi Charitable Organization Registration

Agency:Mississippi Secretary of State - Charities Division
Law:

Mississippi Code Annotated §79-11-501 through 79-11-511. Mississippi Code - Regulation of Charitable Solicitations

One-Time Exemption Registration

Exemption Eligible Organizations:
  • Organizations which do not intend to solicit or receive and do not actually receive more than $25,000 per year in contributions
  • Accredited educational institutions and foundations
  • Fraternal, patriotic, social, educational, alumni organizations and historical societies who use only their memberships to solicit contributions
  • Appeals for individuals
  • Organizations which receive allocations from registered united funds or community chests and receive less than $25,000 from other sources
  • All volunteer fire departments and rescue units which are chartered as non-profit organizations by the state
  • Any humane society which contracts with counties or municipalities for the care and keeping of strays
Filing method:

Online

Agency fee:

$50 + $4 online filing fee.

Notes:

Notices of exemption do not expire, but charities must update their exemption within 30 days if any information changes.

Initial Registration

Filing method:

Online

Agency fee:

$50 + $4 online filing fee.

Notes:
  • Note the list attachments required. Larger organizations may need to attach an audited financial statement.
  • The CFO and president (or other authorized officer) must sign the application electronically.
  • The state will return a Ceritificate of Registration upon approval.
  • Some Mississippi counties and municipalities may require charities that solicit in-person to register prior to fundraising.

Registration Renewal

Filing method:

Online

Agency fee:

$50 + $4 online filing fee.

Due:

Renewal is due annually 4 months and 15 days after the charity's fiscal year end. If your fiscal year ends on December 31, renewal is due by May 15.

Notes:
  • Note the list attachments required including IRS Form 990. Larger organizations may need to attach an audited financial statement.

Change of Fiscal Year

Agency fee:

$50

Turnaround:

1-2 business days

Notes:

Fiscal year can be changed during the standard renewal process.

Mississippi Commercial Co-Venturer Registration

Agency:Mississippi Secretary of State - Charities Division
Financial Reports Requirements:

A financial accounting must be filed within 30 days of the end of the fundraising event and on the anniversary data every year for multi-year promotions.

Financial Report Requirements:

A financial accounting must be filed within 30 days of the end of the fundraising event and on the anniversary data every year for multi-year promotions.

Contract Filing Requirements:

CCVs must file notice and contracts with the secretary of state at least 7 days prior to the start of fundraising.

Contract Filing Requirements:

CCVs must file notice and contracts with the secretary of state at least 7 days prior to the start of fundraising.

Initial Registration

Filing method:

Online

Agency fee:

$0

Registration Renewal

Not required



Commercial co-venturer registrations do not need to be renewed, however, contact information should be kept up to date.

Mississippi Fundraising Counsel Registration

Agency:Mississippi Secretary of State

Initial Registration

Filing method:

Online

Agency fee:

$250

Registration Renewal

Filing method:

Online

Agency fee:

$250

Due:

Annually by June 30.

Mississippi Professional Fundraiser Registration

Agency:Mississippi Secretary of State
Bond Requirements:

$10,000

Financial Reports Requirements:

Due within 90 days after a campaign has ended and on the anniversary of commencement for campaigns lasting more than a year.

Financial Report Requirements:

Due within 90 days after a campaign has ended and on the anniversary of commencement for campaigns lasting more than a year.

Contract Filing Requirements:

File a solicitation campaign notice before beginning a campaign.

Contract Filing Requirements:

File a solicitation campaign notice before beginning a campaign.

Initial Registration

Filing method:

Online

Agency fee:

$250

Registration Renewal

Filing method:

Online

Agency fee:

$250

Due:

Annually by June 30.

Individual Licenses

Mississippi Individual Nonprofit & Fundraising Licenses

Mississippi Individual Professional Fundraiser Registration

Agency:Mississippi Secretary of State

Registration Renewal

Form:

http://www.sos.ms.gov/Pages/Fees-Forms-Charities.aspx

Agency fee:

$0

Due:

Annually by June 30.

Learn about fundraising in other states:

© 2012 - 2019 Harbor Compliance. All rights reserved. Harbor Compliance does not provide tax, financial, or legal advice. Use of our services does not create an attorney-client relationship. Harbor Compliance is not acting as your attorney and does not review information you provide to us for legal accuracy or sufficiency. Access to our website is subject to our Terms of Use and Service Agreement.